London Grind 

Breakfast isn’t the first meal of the day without eggs. Everyday I have one poached on toast, sometimes with avocado, sometimes with tomatoes but always eggs. I try to stick to this mantra when I’m out so maybe see my breakfast blogs as an egg tour of London (I don’t see the point in eating muesli when eggs benedict is on the menu).

So, back in London Bridge, home to the Shard, I’m reminded again of how much of a metropolis London really is. Walking towards the bridge, swerving in between busy commuters, I entered London Grind. The breakfast venue turned trendy bar in the evening is a busy, electric place which hosts a plethora of businessmen/women and artistic types.

Fortunately I booked, as I saw quite a few people being turned away from the door as it was rammed. Recovering from a bad cold, I instantly ordered their fresh green tea of which I had two – and would highly recommend.

Whilst I waited for my dining partners I had the chance to look down the menu. I find that as much as I like breakfast the choices in different venues aren’t extraordinarily different. Caravan on Exmouth Market has a very similar menu with baked eggs, various muesli’s etc but this place is famed for something not all places have. And that’s avocado on toast.

My love for avocado is a strong one, going through a phase when I was younger of coming home and making guacamole. I would consume the whole bowl with a packet of Doritos and wondered why my trousers were becoming tighter as avocado was ‘healthy fat’.

So once everyone arrived, and after their fresh pressed juices arrived (which looked unusually small!) we set to ordering. As the avocado is so highly recommended we all went for it plus poached eggs but I was extra naughty and added smoked salmon too.

Although personally the bread was quite tough around the edges, it was a really nice breakfast. It isn’t somewhere I’d go rushing back to try – the salmon at Aqua Shard was so much nicer and overall only £3 extra. For that £3 you get incredible views of London and incredibly sourced food.

I’m keen to come back to London Grind for drinks in the evening, it has a very modern feel to it, similar to my all time favourite cocktail bar Freuds on Shaftesbury Avenue.  Yet another breakfast venue has been ticked off the list, with the Shard still remaining the number one on my list.

Leave a comment